February 08, 2017 |

By: Tony Bertuca

Democrats on the House Armed Services Committee today named several new subcommittee ranking members.

Rep. Niki Tsongas (D-MA) will be the new ranking member on the tactical air and land forces subcommittee, replacing former Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-CA), who lost a Senate election.

Rep. Jackie Speier (D-CA) will now be the ranking Democrat on the military personnel subcommittee, while Rep. Seth Moulton (D-MA) will take her post as ranking member on the oversight and investigations subcommittee.

Four others will retain their seats as subcommittee ranking members: Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN) on strategic forces; Rep. Madeline Bordallo (D-GU) on readiness; Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT) on seapower; and Rep. Jim Langevin (D-RI) on emerging threats and capabilities.